A route only becomes active once you have loaded it, by right-clicking (in Windows) and selecting 'Load route'.
After this, selecting 'Hide all (except active)' will show only that route and hide all others.
You can initially cut down the number of routes visible by selecting 'Only routes I can edit'. This will reduce slightly the number of routes visible by taking out, for example, any for which the creator has not given permission to edit.
Once a route is active, you can create your own copy which will allow you to alter and amend the route, while leaving the original unchanged.
Hope this helps.