Phoebe Smith is the new president of the Long Distance Walkers Association

Phoebe Smith is the new president of the Long Distance Walkers Association

Outdoors journalist Phoebe Smith has taken up the post of president of the Long Distance Walkers Association.

She was invited to head the organisation after impressing members when she spoke at its annual meeting.

Ms Smith is ‘Wander Woman’ and editor-at-large at Wanderlust magazine and has also written eight books with an adventure theme.

She said: “I am delighted to be invited to be president of the LDWA, a wonderful organisation of which I have been a fan for many years.

“Their database of walking paths all over the UK has inspired many of my own adventures and their get-up-and-go spirit, walking group meets and long-distance challenges doubtlessly encourages many more people to get outside. I cannot wait to work with them to take the message of the benefits of walking to as many people as possible.

“Exciting times lie ahead – watch this space.”

The association said its membership is growing strongly. Long-distance path information, challenge walks and social walks are all being expanded and its 43 local groups are increasingly active.

LDWA chair David Morgan said: “We first met Phoebe when she was guest speaker at our AGM dinner.

“We were enthralled at her stories and the challenges she sets herself. It all seemed so familiar to our way of thinking. We decided that we just had to invite Phoebe to be our president and are so pleased to announce that she has accepted.”

The association was formed in 1972 to promote long-distance walking, which it defines as more than 20 miles. It organises led walks and also challenge events of between 20 and 100 miles which participants are expected to complete within a time limit.

More details are on the LDWA website.

Some articles the site thinks might be related:

  1. Lynn Robinson elected first woman BMC president as members vote for new structure
  2. Frits Vrijlandt elected UIAA president after no-confidence vote in former head
  3. Patterdale team stalwart elected president of national mountain rescue body