Mario Di Maio. Photo: Aberdeen MRT

Mario Di Maio. Photo: Aberdeen MRT

Volunteers from Britain’s mountain rescue community have been recognised in the New Year Honours.

Lochaber team member Jonathan Hart was appointed an OBE for his services to mountain rescue in Scotland and to charity.

Mr Hart of Spean Bridge has been a Lochaber MRT member for more than 20 years and was also formerly chair of the Mountain Rescue Committee of Scotland.

Mario Di Maio of Aberdeen Mountain Rescue Team, will become an MBE. He has been a member of the team for 48 years and is a former team leader.

The MBE adds to his Mountain Rescue Committee of Scotland’s distinguished service award, which he received four years ago. Mr Di Maio, of Bieldside, Aberdeen, was recognised in the New Year’s Honours for services to mountain rescue.

Paul Kerr. Photo: Newsar

Paul Kerr. Photo: Newsar

Paul Kerr of North East Wales Search and Rescue received the British Empire Medal for services to mountain rescue in north Wales and the community in Cheshire.

He has served with Newsar for more than 25 years. A team spokesperson said: “Paul has been an active member of Newsar in many operational roles, as well as a long period as our treasurer, with added responsibilities as a trustee of the charity.

“Paul was keen to point out that he sees this as an award that recognises his contribution within the overall picture of long and valuable service by so many other people he has had the good fortune to volunteer alongside for many years.

“Congratulations Paul!”

Ken McCubbin. Photo: Galloway MRT

Ken McCubbin. Photo: Galloway MRT

Ken McCubbin of Galloway Mountain Rescue Team also received the British Empire Medal, for services to mountain rescue.

Mr McCubbin, of Newton Stewart, was a founder member of the team in 1975.

A team spokesperson said: “Congratulations from all of us at GMRT to Ken for this much deserved recognition.”

Broadcaster and environmental campaigner Chris Packham was appointed a CBE in the honours. Mr Packham of Southampton received the awards for services to nature conservation.

In November he was also honoured by the Outdoor Writers and Photographers Guild which presented him with its Golden Eagle award.

Accepting his OWPG honour, he invoked the spirit of the Kinder Scout mass trespassers in his campaigning, opposing among other things driven grouse shooting, raptor persecution and the slaughter of migrating birds on Malta.

The cave divers who took part in the rescue of a trapped Thai boys’ football team were also honoured.

Richard Stanton and John Volanthen were awarded the George Medal for gallantry.

And Joshua Bratchley, Lance Corporal Connor Roe and Vernon Unsworth were appointed MBEs for their work in the rescue. Christopher Jewell and Jason Mallinson were awarded the Queen’s Gallantry Medal for exemplary acts of bravery.

Some articles the site thinks might be related:

  1. Ex-mountain rescuer Julian Carradice recognised in New Year’s Honours
  2. Rescuers Mark Hodgson and Gari Finch made MBEs in New Year Honours
  3. Central Beacons rescuers’ veteran Huw Jones appointed MBE in New Year’s Honours
  4. Mountain rescuers: search for cash continues after Westminster week